Welcome to my website

About me

My first novel, Scuba Dancing, (published in 2005), was a romantic comedy but I’ve now turned to crime and am currently working on two separate series.

My Harriet Quigley Mysteries featuring recently-retired headmistress, Harriet Quigley and her clergyman cousin, Canon Sam Hathaway, are contemporary and take place in and around Winchester. With the publication of The Art of Murder (September 2016) there are now three of Harriet’s adventures published. The other two are Murder Fortissimo, and A Crowded Coffin — see my books page for more details.

With the publication of The Dead Queen’s Garden (December 2013) there are now three novels in my historical series Charlotte Richmond Investigates which features a resourceful young Victorian widow who just can’t help stumbling over the occasional corpse. The earlier books in this series are: Murder Most Welcome and Death is the Cure — see my books page for more details.

I wrote children’s stories while my three children were growing up, moving on to adult short stories for several national magazines. Winning a short story competition in FAMILY CIRCLE encouraged me to start writing seriously and since then my stories and articles have been commissioned regularly.

I was brought up in Poole, in Dorset, and since then have lived in various places including Cairo, in Egypt. I now live with my husband near Winchester in Hampshire.

Besides writing I love travelling and have tried my hand as an antiques dealer. I am also an artist; see some of my paintings in my gallery page.

My Interviews

Have you ever wondered what inspired me to write, or which authors made an impression on me ? Take a look at my Interviews page for the answers to these and other questions you might have.

My Book Reviews

To see reviews of my books take a look at my Books page.