My latest book, The House at Ladywell

The House at Ladywell

The story in brief

‘Had I gone completely crazy that first day? To open the door, take one astonished look round, and decide on the spot that I would live there? To fall in love with a house?’

When Freya Gibson inherits an old, run-down property she has no idea she is the last in a long line of redoubtable women, including the Tudor nun who built the house. Unknown to Freya, these women, over centuries, fought with whatever weapons came to hand – deception, endurance, even murder – to preserve their home and family.

Find out more about The House at Ladywell

My earlier books…

All my books are available online as ebooks. You can order them online at

My contemporary mystery series featuring former headmistress, Harriet Quigley

The Art of Murder — the story in brief

The Art of Murder
A weekend art course at an upmarket B&B near Winchester’s historic cathedral is bound to be relaxing and fun … But not when Linzi Bray, Chairman of the local art group, is in charge and the house is full of people who loathe her.
Accidents start to happen – in a ruined castle, in a fast-flowing river, in a peaceful garden. There’s a stalker – or is there?
And there are far too many dead insects, as well as a vandalised Porsche and a pond full of blood.

Find out more about The Art of Murder

My contemporary mystery series.

A Crowded Coffin — the story in brief

A Crowded Coffin cover The second book of the series.
It’s late summer in Hampshire and former headmistress, Harriet Quigley, is enjoying life. Her cousin Sam is moving next-door and the only cloud on the horizon is village gossip about a man who disappeared months earlier, along with a more recent near-fatal accident.
Suddenly it’s all going pear-shaped — and sensible, practical Harriet has only herself to blame. Sam has warned her not to play at being Miss Marple but despite her cousin’s strictures Harriet is suspicious about several newcomers and she’s been asking discreet questions. There’s an enigmatic artist; a good-looking vicar; a handsome Texan; a millionaire orchid-fancier; and Elvis the plumber.

Find out more about A Crowded Coffin

My contemporary mystery series:

Murder Fortissimo — the story in brief

Murder Fortissimo cover This is the first in my contemporary mystery series: this series features recently-retired headmistress, Harriet Quigley and her clergyman cousin, Canon Sam Hathaway.
In this novel Harriet needs a good rest and somewhere comfortable to recover from a hospital stay, she believes Firstone Grange will be the ideal place. Upmarket and luxurious, (expensive, of course), but perfectly run by a competent and understanding Matron, Firstone Grange seems wonderful but there’s a serpent in this Paradise and Harriet soon realizes that some of the residents are very frightened.

Find out more about Murder Fortissimo

My historical mystery series: Charlotte Richmond Investigates …

The Dead Queen’s Garden — the story in brief

The Dead Queen’s Garden cover This is the third book in my Victorian series about Charlotte Richmond, a resourceful young widow who keeps stumbling over corpses and sets about finding out whodunit and why! Set at Christmas 1858 this one has a suitably festive flavour.

Charlotte Richmond has lately found herself tripping over the occasional corpse, but surely the festive season can’t present the same hazard? Oh yes it can…

There are some strange incidents and a death that leave Charlotte puzzled and anxious.

Over Christmas, however, she does manage to learn a surprising amount about medieval gardening, some unusual and unpleasant ailments, London property values, and how to conduct a rat-hunt. To cap it all, Boxing Day finds the resourceful Charlotte in a garden dedicated to a long-dead queen, fighting for her life and armed only with what is possibly the least likely weapon ever.

Find out more about The Dead Queen’s Garden

My historical mystery series:

Death is the Cure — the story in brief

Death is the Cure cover The second book of the series.
In this book Charlotte — a resourceful young widow who was brought up in Australia but now lives in Hampshire — goes off to Bath where she is soon up to her ears in mayhem and murder.

Find out more about Death is the Cure

My historical mystery series:

Murder Most Welcome — the story in brief

Murder Most Welcome cover The first book of the series.
Outwardly a grieving young Victorian widow, Charlotte Richmond is concealing some scandalous secrets when she arrives at Finchbourne Manor to start a respectable new life with her husband’s family.

Find out more about Murder Most Welcome

My first novel:

Scuba Dancing — the story in brief

Scuba Dancing cover ‘It was late summer when the angel first manifested himself to Ursula Buchanan in the village shop, just along the aisle from the bacon slicing machine … ‘Go on,’ he urged, pointing a glowing golden finger at the notice. ‘Join the group, Ursula, it’ll change your life.’

Find out more about Scuba Dancing

Become a reviewer

Did you know how easy it is to become a book reviewer and get your name in print ?

Once you’ve read and enjoyed one of my books, The Art of Murder, The Dead Queen’s Garden, A Crowded Coffin, Murder Fortissimo, Death is the Cure, Murder Most Welcome or Scuba Dancing, or all of them, you could post a review on Amazon. Just click on the ‘create your own review’ button and take it from there. Your review could then appear on this site with your name !

Prefer to remain anonymous ? There’s nothing wrong in using a pseudonym — remember Arnold George Dorsey ? Not many people do, but everyone remembers Engelbert Humperdinck !

[Top of Page]